Head Coach– Richard Bielski

Coach Rich Bielski is in his 10th year as a baseball coach at Archbishop McCarthy. He has 22 years of experience coaching high school baseball, 18 of those as a head coach. He graduated from Miami-Dade Community College with an Associate of Arts degree, the University of Georgia with a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Mathematics Education, Nova Southeastern University with a Master’s of Science degree in Computer Science Education, and then earned his certification in Guidance & Counseling K-12 from St. Thomas University.

Coach Bielski received a baseball scholarship to Harford Community College out of high school, then transferred to Miami-Dade Community College for his second year where he was named Student-Athlete of the Year and drafted by the Milwaukee Brewers and New York Yankees. He then accepted a scholarship to the University of Georgia where he played for the Bulldogs and was named All-Academic SEC and played in the College World Series. Coach Bielski concluded his baseball career playing professional baseball for the Salt Lake City Trappers in the Pioneer League.

Coach Bielski holds a State of Florida Teaching Certificate for Mathematics 6-12 and Guidance Counseling K-12 and has been a longtime member of the Florida Athletic Coaches’ Association. In 2001-2002, he was named Teacher of the Year at Hialeah High School where he was a Math Teacher, Math Coach, Dean of Students and Florida Virtual School Facilitator. Coach Bielski has received numerous Coach of the Year Honors by the Miami-Herald, the Sun-Sentinel, the Florida Dairy Farmers, Diamond Baseball, and the Florida Athletic Coaches’ Association. He was named National Coach of the Year in 2011 by USA Today and the National High School Baseball Coaches Association (BCA.) Coach Bielski’s teams have amassed 8 State Championships, 1 National Championship and 437 total wins, including a 41-2 State Playoff record at Archbishop McCarthy. Under his guidance, the Maverick Baseball Teams have won 4 consecutive State Championships (2010-2013) and 6 State Championships in the last 7 years (2010-2016.) Both are FHSAA State records.

Team Records

Record Coach Year
11-14 Massaro 1999-2000
12-14 Massaro 2000-2001
15-13 Massaro 2001-2002
18-10 Massaro 2002-2003
15-13 Massaro 2003-2004 District Champions
15-10 Massaro 2004-2005
12-12-2 Massaro 2005-2006
14-13 Massaro 2006-2007
19-7-2 DeMathies 2007-2008 District Champions
25-5-2 Bielski 2008-2009 District & Regional Champions
27-5 Bielski 2009-2010 State Champions
29-3 Bielski 2010-2011 National & State Champions
28-3-1 Bielski 2011-2012 State Champions
25-6 Bielski 2012-2013 State Champions
29-3 Bielski 2013-2014 District Champions
27-5 Bielski 2014-2015 State Champions
29-2 Bielski 2015-2016 State Champions

TOTAL: 350-138-7